Alternative Medicine

I have never considered alternative medicine, that is until a few weeks ago but I still wasn’t convinced. I’m pretty clued up on what’s scientifically proven and what isn’t. For example: Magnets for health are bullshit, hypnotherapy doesn’t actually exists – it’s a con-artists trick done with people who are willing take part and as for anti-ageing products? – there is nothing in them to stop your skin from ageing.

Alternative medicine includes things like Acupuncture · Anthroposophic medicine · Ayurveda · Chiropractic · Herbalism · Homeopathy · Naturopathy · Siddha medicine · Traditional medicine
(Chinese · Mongolian · Tibetan) · Unani.

Happy Pills
Source: weheartit.com

However, I am keen on nature and I do know that some herbs can be beneficial to certain ailments. It’s something I’ve grown up with.

It’s no secret that I suffer from depression, but these past few months – it’s taken a dive again. Been to the doctors and all that jazz but whilst waiting for the rise in my anti-depressants to kick in; my mum handed me a leaflet for a Chinese Medicine place in town.

I was very skeptical as most of what they offer is stuff I know very well doesn’t work. But one thing they do offer is Herbalism. Chinese Herbalism of course. Researched proved unfruitful, all advertising and information – nothing scientific.

After a few days, I decided to ask my good friend John – he and I are on the same wave length on most things but initially he hadn’t much more of a clue than me. And then – one of the podcasts he listens to put out an article on this very subject. And that really put it all in perspective.

You can either read the full article or listen to the podcast.

The basics are this: Traditional Chinese Medicine does work – but not as well as modern medicine. All traditional Chinese medicine in the west come from a book called A Barefoot Doctor’s Manual which was only intended to be used in China’s poorer regions where modern medical care wasn’t readily available – furthermore, it was more of first aid and therefore a doctor would advise you to go to hospital or into the city for modern medicine if the ailment was serious. Very few people were treated by traditional Chinese medicine alone – it was simply a way to get affordable medical care, quickly to people in villages – and the book ALWAYS recommends that you take the modern medicine where available.
The publishers however are a big part in the illusion because if you pick up a copy of this book today, all mentions of taking the modern medicine where possible have been erased – making it seem like traditional Chinese medicine is some form of high wisdom – it’s not, it’s just the old way of treating things – which have been far improved with modern medicine.

Needless to say – I passed. Modern medicine please!

Have you ever used any alternative medicine? If so what and why? I’m interested!

4 thoughts on “Alternative Medicine

  1. Hey Ali!

    I’ve actually used alternative medicine pretty much my entire life – my parents took me to a homeopath when I was just a baby. All my life I have struggled with nose problems – my nose would always be blocked, a little bit in the winter and pretty much all the way during summer because of hayfever. It was affecting a lot of other things too, like my heartbeat.

    Years and years I tried to fix this, with help from modern doctors as well as a homeopath, but nothing was successful. Until I went to an electro-acupuncturist. Electro-acupuncture doesn’t involve needles, by the way 😉 This guy was able to “see” what was wrong with my body, and also which (homeopathic) medications would work (a normal homeopath can’t see that, they work on a trial-and-error base). He gave me medication for the things that were wrong, and he also gave me “plantain” for my hayfever. It took some time, but my nose is MUCH better now (though still sensitive to stuff like airco and cigarette smoke). Even now, in the middle of the hayfever season, I don’t have any problems.

    My belief is actually quite the opposite from yours, I would say – I’m losing faith in modern doctors. They usually only look at the symptoms, and not at the actual cause. (For instance, my nose doctor refused to believe that my raised heartbeat was caused by my blocked nose.) Alternative doctors look at the bigger picture and the body as a whole. Plus, I feel that homeopathic medication isn’t as bad for your body as they are mostly herbs and natural ingredients. I believe the chemical modern medication can – in the long run – cause more damage than it fixes.

    I know that we can’t live without modern medicine, homeopathy and other methods can only cure so much. I wish that modern doctors would be a bit more open-minded sometimes though 😉

    I know you’ve been struggling with a lot of health issues, and while mine are perhaps less severe, I know the strain it can put on your life. I really hope you’ll find something that works for you soon!

    Wow, this has become quite a story! Hope that’s ok 🙂 If you would like to know more about my experience with alternative medicine, let me know! 🙂

    1. Hey Gaby!

      I’m sorry modern medicine didn’t help – sometimes more tradition things can help some people better. To a certain degree it’s the same with modern medicine, what works for one person, doesn’t work for others.

      From what I’ve read of Electro-acupuncture, it does involve needles – so interested in how yours was done?

      I do agree that both sides have their faults – modern doctors aren’t perfect either but alternative medicine is so full of people trying to make money from people who want a cure that it’s hard to know who to trust.

      My anti-depressants work pretty well for me, I’m much better than I was a few years ago – but that’s also due to counselling and a lot of hard work on my part.

  2. For me it was done with this machine: http://www.additieve-geneeswijzen.nl/electro-acupunctuur.JPG

    You hold the copper-colored cylinder in your hand while the acupuncturist “measures” the energy (I think) at certain key points in your fingers and toes. Each point represents an organ or something in your body, and the acupuncturist can see which ones are good and which ones are not. Absolutely pain-free – the only downside I could think of was smelly hands afterwards 😉

Comment and Tell Me Your Thoughts

