“Strength In Numbers” – Bullying & Confidence (Tag)

I got this from Macbarbie07 on YouTube, I’ve only recently started watching her videos but today I had a bit of a rummage through a few of her older videos and found this from a few months ago.

If you watch the video you’ll understand a bit more about it, but basically this is a tag started by someone who wanted to highlight the bullying issue and show people that lots of people have been bullied. This is supposed to be a youtube thing but I decided to do it in a blog because I don’t really film stuff for youtube so I think it would just lost on my account where I just have all stuff I watch.

Bullying
Source: weheartit.com

Questions

CONFIDENCE:
-Have you ever felt unconfident before and why?
Definitely! Numerous occasions and reasons. In general, I’m not very confident. I’m all very comfortable around my close friends and on my own but put me with people I don’t know and I draw back into myself pretty quickly.
I don’t remember really ever being that confident as a child either. I was bullied and never really fitted in. I was a bit of a tom-boy so didn’t fit in with the girls who really didn’t want to get muddy and the boys didn’t want a girl around!
I also had a very bad relationship that dropped my confidence even more – hey if your fiancé can’t stand you, how will anyone else?

-Do you loose confidence when you don’t feel ‘pretty’?
Of course. I think everyone does. I have my days where I don’t want to be bothered with straightening my hair and things, I don’t exactly feel pretty but I deal with. Then I have my off days where I’d like to wear a paper bag over my head and I feel fat. Again you’ll find I get more quiet and try to draw as little attention to myself as possible.

-What makes you feel confident about yourself?
I’ve gotten a lot better with my confidence these past few years. I think what makes me feel confident the most is looking back at what I’ve accomplished, the things I’ve overcome and having people who accept me for who I am.

BULLYING:
-Have you been bullied?
Sadly yes, several times.
Once in primary school where I was pretty much excluded from everything and everyone. To this day I’ve no idea why.
Once in high school, well more than once in high school, but one major time – which was awful but mostly due to the fact that I was put into a lower group, which I was way too clever for and some people did not like it when I got 100% on exams and did my assignments in hours which were meant to last for weeks. Thankfully I got moved up.
And again that very nasty relationship in which I was afraid to speak nevermind anything else.

-Did you every bully someone?
No. Not intentionally anyway, sure I have said things that have upset people but never intentionally.

-Whether you were bullying or being bullied, how’d it make you feel?
Horrible. Like I wasn’t good enough for anything or anybody – not even life at sometimes.

-How do you deal with bullying?
People tell me I dealt with it, but I’m not so sure – especially after the relationship thing, I was a complete mess. During high school however, I just kept to myself. Didn’t speak unless spoken to. Buried myself more in books and in the evening I’d turn up my music and cry, dance and sing it all away.
One thing I never really did was stand up for myself – which depending on the situation, I should have done.
However, I was in pretty bad shape. I’ve suffered from depression from at least 12 years old, and although people say I dealt with it well – I’m not all that convinced.

INNER BEAUTY:
-Do nicer people seem more ‘beautiful’ to you?
Definitely. I cannot tell you how much it puts me off someone who could be the hottest person I’ve seen in my life (even a guy) if I know they’re a complete jerk. They completely fall off my friend or even general chat to radar.

-Does makeup make you feel prettier?
Yes it does. I’m not going to lie and pretend I’ve reached some high plateau of loving myself because I haven’t. But, I’ll tell you a secret – I like myself a lot more than I used to, I like being who I am. There’s a few bits of my body I’m not pleased with, and they can’t all be covered with make up either but I’m not overly obsessed about them.
I have to say though that make up may make me feel prettier but the gaining confidence is what has really made the biggest difference.
Never fully rely on make up to make you feel pretty!

-What do you think of the expression ‘beauty comes from the inside?’
I agree. It does. I’m also going to be honest here and say that looks to matter to some degree, especially when it comes to relationships – there has to be some physical attraction there, but the stronger attraction does come from the inside.

So now I want you guys to do this, I’m going to take a few people I know who blog. You can either write this or do a youtube video, it’s up to you. If you are a guy, just skip the make-up question, the rest are fine for you to do!

Mike, Maaike, Kim, Janelle, Sarah. I officially tag you all.

If you want to do this too, go ahead! Come back and post the link to yours in the comments!

7 thoughts on ““Strength In Numbers” – Bullying & Confidence (Tag)

Comment and Tell Me Your Thoughts

