Questions For A Bookworm

Totally stolen from Cassie because I couldn’t resist – what book loving girl could?

Imagine you sit in front of a fireplace. You read and beside you there is a cup with something hot in it. What would that be in your case: tea, coffee or hot chocolate?
Well – this may shock some of you, because I always get that reaction in real life when I tell people but I don’t drink tea or coffee. I’ve never liked it, even when I was a child. So it would have to be hot chocolate if I have to stick to the three examples given.
Lately however I’ve been making myself a hot mug of Horlicks (which is a malt drink) and adding some instant hot chocolate powder to it.
And I’ll sometimes – but only usually when I’m ill, I’ll have a hot mug of blackcurrant juice.

If an author gave you the chance to rewrite or to change the fate of a book character, who would you chose?
Before I get into this, I have to say ![SPOILER ALERT]! because it would be really unfair if I didn’t wouldn’t it? There’s no easy way to dress this up and nothing I can really explain about it without giving away too much of the story but in “The Final Empire” by Brandon Sanderson – one of the main characters; Kelsier dies. Don’t get me wrong – characters dying in a book – main characters even – are always dramatic, and can and in this case does make the story all the more stick in ones mind.

However Kelsier’s death shocked me, it saddened me and it made me think and wonder what things would be like had he lived and so, in some way – I would really like to – perhaps not change the storyline, but have an alternate ending to read, just to see how different things would have been.

Usbourne's First Thousand Words
Usbourne's First Thousand Words

Did your parents read stories to you when you were little? if yes are there any special ones you remember the most?
Yes they did, I’ve always had books and they read to me from a very young age.
The first book I remember isn’t really a storybook, it’s 1979 edition of Usbourne’s First Thousand Words (they didn’t do other languages then, so mine is literally just “The First Thousand Words”, it doesn’t say English on it) but still loved reading it, it was a sort of learn to read with pictures book which I adored. I think I knew every page and where all the things were to find. In fact I still have it.
As for actual reading – I think it was The Tale of Greyfriars Bobby  I remember because it had a dog on the front (I loved dogs even as a child) and so I always wanted that reading to me. Unfortunately, I seemed to have lost that book but I do have Greyfriars Bobby  in my collection, but I got this when I was much older.

What do you like more the smell of old antiquarian books or the smell of new fresh ones you just bought?
Don’t make me choose! I like both so much. The new, the unexplored pages smelling of print and the old, the pages seen so many times – who knows what personal bookmarks, or notes one might find on the pages! They give off such different airs of excitement, it’s very difficult to choose but I think I like the old antiquarian smell just a tiny bit more.

You get the opportunity to chose between two secret talents: either to be able to make things come to life through reading them or the gift to read yourself into a book. Which one would you like to have?
Another difficult choice, especially for an avid reader with a vivid imagination when reading. Actually being there in the story is a whole different level of experiencing what the characters are experiencing but then to bring a story and it’s characters into this world – that would make for a very different reality.
I would choose to make things come to life through reading them (I am assuming here of course I can pick and choose what comes to life!) because I think that would be quite an experience, to be able to bring that stunning sunset to life, to bring a decent and moral character into reality, to be able to see, hear and touch things you never could imagine in this world and yet it be real, reality.

The Twits by Roald Dahl
The Twits by Roald Dahl

Do you have a favorite children’s book or a favorite fairy tale?
Fairy tales  – too many to choose there Grimm and Anderson I love. I suppose I love lots of children’s books too but one that comes to mind right now is The Twits by Roald Dahl. Although it’s essentially about a couple who are mean to each other and the animals in their garden, there is just so much humour in it – you just really want to know what they’re going to do next. And who doesn’t love it when animals rebel?
In primary school the headmaster would take some time out of his day each day, to have a year (or grade) us kids in his office and read to us. He’s pick some kids who had been good for the first few pages to sit on the window sill, cupboards, big chairs and on his desk. And he always, ALWAYS read a Roald Dahl book. This is when I had The Twits read to me.
You know, I didn’t know any different then but teachers don’t do any of that now. I really treasure this memory.

Someone would talk to your friends and ask them to compare you to a book character. With whom do you think would they compare you?
I can honestly say – I don’t know. That might sound like a cop-out but the thing is – my friends have read different books to me and each other, so what they compare me to might be completely different to what I think they would say. So if you’re a friend of mine – comment below and answer this question, because I’d like to know!

Tell me the name of a writer whom you would like to have as a friend.
Assuming I’m not allowed to pick anyone I’m already friends with… Robert Rankin. What can I say, his eccentric outspoken nature and extremely far fetched imagination intrigue me.

You can hide in a written down world for only one night into which world do you escape?
I forget the name of the village now, but in Dracula by Bram Stoker there is a village that’s far enough away from Dracula’s castle to be mostly unaffected by the terrible creature but still has the fear and folklore. Myth, legends, crytozoology and the paranormal have always interested me and although I may not get much sleep there, I think it would be interesting.

Something terrible happens: you have to flee to an unknown place and all you can take with you are three books of all the ones you own. Which three ones do you put into your bag?
Complete Grimm’s Fairy Tales – for fun and light reading, The Well of Ascension: Mistborn Book Two by Brandon Sanderson – because I haven’t read it yet and I really should have by now! and The Antipope (Brentford Trilogy) by Robert Rankin – because Rankin is my favourite author and I’ve yet to read this one.
Some of those questions were harder than I thought, but I loved doing this. If you fancy doing it too then go ahead – leave me a comment with the link to yours so I can check it out.

3 thoughts on “Questions For A Bookworm

  1. Oh my sweet lord, black current juice. I miss it. When I lived in Australia…I drank so much of it, and now…nothing – we don’t have it in my State. : (

    Roald Dahl has stamps out in the UK – aka you need to buy some! The Twits is one of them!

    The one that your friends compare you to was really hard for me as well.

    Okay in Bram Stroker – would you be a vampire-ess or would you be…someone else? Like the stage coach? Or a town’s person?

    Loved yours – awesome book lovers answers. : )

    1. Find it strange you don’t have it in your state, it’s really popular here.

      Ooooooh I didn’t know about the stamps – I will have to see about them. Not a collector of stamps but some of the special editions, you just have to – like I have the Lord of the Rings ones.

      I think I would like to be a visitor to the town, so I can be in the midst of it, but still sort of be an observer.
      I really tried to think of somewhere peaceful and tranquil to go in a book, but I actually couldn’t think of anywhere like that.

Comment and Tell Me Your Thoughts

