Some People Are Bad For Your Health

It’s said that in the bad times you really get to know who your friends are and let me tell you, I’ve had my share – more than my fair share of bad times to know that this statement really rings true the vast majority of times.
It can come in many forms – avoiding you completely, ignoring your requests for help or being plain nasty (to your face or not) and none of it is nice to go through.

I Don't Know... But You Don't Need Them.

You would think that in such times that human beings would gather around and help each other, but that’s just not always the case – I cannot fathom why – but it isn’t.

And then, there are people who even throw negativity your way when things are going well for you. What really is that about? Jealousy?

Sadly, I’ve experienced all this – as well as been scorned for having depression, people not understanding (and making no effort to understand) and how dare I even think of having some morals?!

A few days ago I read this post – which is a guest post, but it’s by a person whose blog I read on a regular basis – but I won’t identify her here either (sorry).
Anyway, this post reminded me of how much peace can be gained from simply removing such people from your life. I’ve done it before with “friends” (I use the term loosely) and it’s very liberating.

I am hard enough on myself, negative enough about myself, my life and some of my choices without someone else piling their negative thoughts and feelings about me. I can drive my self-esteem into ground perfectly well on my own thank you.
And I certainly do not need bringing down when I’m actually feeling good, happy and making positive choices for myself.

It really does start to weigh on you – mentally and physically. It’s stressful, distressing and sometimes heartbreaking.

I have worked damn hard to get myself to this confidence level, to this much better state of mind (depression wise) and frankly got too many good friends, to let one bad one spoil the whole bunch.

So if you have people who are bad for your health – remove them from your life. It might sound drastic, but trust me – you don’t need them.

It’s time to declutter.

Friends and Family don’t bitch about each other, they don’t drive your self esteem down every chance they get, they don’t begrudge you being happy and they don’t make you feel like scum of the earth.

Gain some positive by removing some negative.

It’s time I did this again for myself and maybe it’s time you did this for yourself too.

6 thoughts on “Some People Are Bad For Your Health

  1. We tend to be the average of the 5 people we spend the most time with. Attitudes, thoughts, perspectives, sayings and many others are shared in these small communities to influence and re-inforce the community. You have to be very careful who your friends are. Do they sabotage your succeess, bring you down, add their baggage to your life? Or do they support you, pick you up, give you objective feedback? Great read and thanks for sharing!

    1. I’m much the same, unfortunately occasionally you do find someone who isn’t who you thought they were. But, I’ve learned to leave them out of my life – so much less stressful that way.

      I was actually thinking when I wrote this about my friendships with all you NLY girls, and I realised that although we’re all different we are all quite headstrong about our morals and self respect.

      1. We certainly ARE a headstrong bunch, aren’t we?

        Dare I say it, but I find that sometimes just people in general– even the ones that I love and trust– are bad for my health if I’m always around them and don’t spend time alone. I need alone time in general, to just be with myself and my own thoughts, or I go mad & get cranky. In fact, at some point in the future, I might just pull a semi-Thoreau and just spend a week alone with myself, cutting off contact from everyone else. It’s just a good way to refresh and get back in touch with yourself, in my humble opinion…

        1. I think being around the same people 24/7 isn’t healthy in general, it’s not necessarily their fault – but everyone needs a bit of space, even if it’s just when they have a shower or a bath.
          But also I know what you mean, I do like to have some me time – it gives me “space” to think.

          Not sure I could do a whole week alone, a few days maybe – I think I’d get on my OWN nerves.

Comment and Tell Me Your Thoughts

