Losing Weight 2.0

Yes, I wrote about losing weight before but to be honest it wasn’t going well and I lost interest very quickly. But I’m posting today because I’ve actually already started my “diet”, I’ve been doing it for about 2 weeks now. I didn’t want to post about it before because I wasn’t sure how my motivation was going to go on it and I didn’t want to jinx it or put added pressure on myself to post about it before I’ve even got my own head around it.
So now that I have, let me tell you a bit about my weight losing goal.

Weight Loss

My problem last time was definitely motivation – not motivation for the end result but motivation every day, along with concentration – keeping a good schedule.
I also tried to do everything all at once – the food, the exercise, the better choices and it’s a lot to change in your daily life all in one go.

As you may know this year I started the 50 Book Challenge (I aim to read 50 books this year). In order to do this challenge and give 100% to it, I’ve had to be organised and push myself some times. As I’ve (mostly) stayed on schedule with this and kept myself organised, it’s really helped with my motivation to keep going with it. Not only that but it’s strengthened my focus and concentration.
All which has made me feel so much stronger in my decision to try this losing weight lark again.

The first thing I really want to point out is the word “diet” – I don’t really think I’m on a diet. I’m not exactly counting calories or restricting my food intake. What I am doing is making better decisions about what I eat (more on this later). For me this is a much more effective way to lose weight – I’ve never been one for diets, as I simply do not enjoy them. There are too many rules and restrictions, counting calories and faffing about.

Now that other issue I was having – the doing it all at once and taking too much on. Seriously, let me tell you – changing one thing about your eating and lifestyle at a time is so much easier to handle and it makes things become second nature to you. So let me run through things I’ve done so far (in order) which have helped me. I didn’t add a new thing every day, it just sort of progressed naturally and I added something else that was helpful or healthier for me when I felt it was best for me to do so.

  • Make better/healthier choices (with food) – I very much must credit my good friend Maaike for this one. I can’t for the life of me remember where or when she said this (I suspect it may have been on Janske’s blog – who is also losing weight and doing great I might add!) but I know she said this. It has stuck in my mind.
    It literally starts with just one meal – for me this was a meal out with a friend. Where I chose to have new potatoes and veggies with my chicken instead of chips and salad.
    Every time I have a meal now – I think about making a better and more healthy choice with my food. Particular with meals.
  • Less junk food – This may well be quite obvious to many people but it’s possibly one of the hardest to stick to. First thing really is not to buy any (or buy less) – there is much less temptation if it’s not actually sitting in your cupboard. I’ve not actually completely cut out junk food, but I have cut down on it a lot. Much like last time, I have said I will have 1 treat day a week, but to be honest I’ve only had 1 treat day in the last 2-3 weeks because after spending time eating more healthy, I just don’t crave it as much any more.
  • Junk food replacement – I confess! I have a sweet tooth! And this is part of what makes the junk food harder to leave alone. Instead of fighting off the cravings – I replaced junk food with sweet but much more healthier things which I still love so I don’t feel like I’m missing out on that feeling of eating something oh so good and yummy. I’m still finding replacements and experimenting but this is definitely a good thing to do for me.
  • Exercise – I tried throwing myself into an exercise routine last time, but it just didn’t work. It was too rigid for me to get any enjoyment out of it. I do plan on getting into a small routine which I can do a few times a week but for right now I’m focusing on getting out more and walking around – be it window shopping, walking the dog or well actually going for a walk. Last week for example – I went to a local town with a friend, did some shopping then walked to their place and then walked home. All that walking added up to about 5 miles that day.

I’m sure I’ll add some more things soon, but for now this is working for me. I’m sticking to it because I’m enjoying it. It’s not a chore, I don’t dread eating my meals and I still eat things that I like.

Much like before my goal is to lose 1stone/14lbs – most of all, I want my (relatively) flat stomach back so I’m thinking maybe I need to look at what inches/cm I’m losing as well.

I have decided I’m not going to update my progress here every single week because I think that will be too much. I’m thinking more like maybe once a month – for the progress reports that is.
However, I already have some great tips and information to share so I’ll be posting those in between so look out for those!

Hands up – whose trying to lose weight? how much and why?

 

4 thoughts on “Losing Weight 2.0

  1. Hun, just try to find what works for you! That’s the key. As replacement to satisfy that sweet tooth: have you tried eating more fruits? Or yoghurt with honey (honey is not as bad as straight up sugar)? Or maybe carrots, cucumbers, red bell peppers and tomatoes? It’s all sweet but way better for you than candy…

    1. Trying all kinds of things at the moment, once I’ve found what I like – and have a good variety I’ll post a blog. Key for me is still enjoying what I eat, if I don’t do that I’ll just lose interest.

Comment and Tell Me Your Thoughts

