Healthy Recipe: Simple Vegetable Soup

Since deciding to try and lose some weight, I’ve had to rethink some of my meals – as well as making sure I make good decisions about what I eat, I’ve also started eating as much fresh food as possible.

Vegetables are something I’m not great at eating – so I needed a few ways to get some veggies into me that I really enjoyed (what’s the point in eating if you don’t enjoy it?).

That’s where soup comes in and it’s super easy to make. I fully credit my brother-in-law Bryan for teaching/telling me how to do this but it’s really simple – anyone can do it.

Homemade Vegetable Soup
Vegetable Soup I made this weekend – Carrots, Cabbage and Peas (Left overs from Sunday Lunch)

Lets get started:

Ingredients

  • 2 or more of your favourite vegetables
  • Water
  • Vegetable Stock Cubes

Equipment

  • Saucepan
  • Hand Blender (or Blender/Food Processor works too)
  • Wooden Spoon/Ladle

Yes, that’s all you need. There are a few optional extras but I’ll cover those below.

Method

  1. Cut up your Vegetables (according to how much soup you want to make – but it must all fit in the saucepan you make the soup in!)
  2. Cook your Vegetables however you like to cook them – boil them, steam them, roast them – it’s up to you, but you must fully cook them first.
  3. Place all cooked Veggies into the saucepan you’re going to make the soup in.
  4. Add water to very slightly above the Vegetables and crumble in a vegetable stock cube (you may need to use 2 or 3 if you’re making a lot of soup).
  5. Place saucepan on hob and stir until stock has fully dissolved and bring to the boil.
  6. Once boiling, take saucepan off the hob and blend.

That’s it! Your soup is ready!

This should make a fairly thick soup – which is how I like my soup, but if you want it thinner just add more water and blend more.

Optional Extras

  • You can of course add salt, pepper and herbs to season if you wish.
  • Also if you like your soups creamy – add cream but only in the bowl you are eating – not in the saucepan because the cream will go off quicker than the soup and won’t last very long.
  • If you want that creamy taste without all the fat of cream – add milk – again to the bowl your eating, not the whole saucepan.

You can make a saucepan full of this soup and it will last a few days (hence the above warning about the cream) – just pour into a plastic food box, allow to cool before putting the lid on and place in the fridge.

Enjoy!

If you try this out let me know what Veg you used and how it was!

One thought on “Healthy Recipe: Simple Vegetable Soup

Comment and Tell Me Your Thoughts

