Is There Such A Thing As Being Too Nice?

My answer to this is hell yes, but there is of course more to it than that.

Being nice is great, you should be nice to people – lets not fill the world with hate, there is enough of that going on. But if you are too nice – the fact is people take advantage of that. I’ve seen it over and over again, I’ve even done it myself.

Don't Treat Me Like A Doormat
Don’t Treat Me Like A Doormat

I think it’s a lesson in life that nearly everyone has to learn at some point.

For me I really learnt it after being in an abusive relationship in my college/university years. I won’t go into too much detail – but I ended up scared to even speak. Did I leave him? No. He left me eventually. I (stupidly) stayed, put up with it all and still did all nice things for him.

I’ve seen it in friends – their other half treats them bad, they’re miserable but they won’t leave because that other person will cry.

My dad used to be a complete sucker for work – every time he was off from work, they’d always call him if they needed someone to cover because they knew he’d always say yes. Again, yes this is a good thing but not when they start to take advantage and you end up having no time off/holiday time really at all.

Try as you might, you cannot please everyone – all the time. You need to look out for yourself. Of course you don’t have to be nasty about these things but you don’t have to play the nice role all the damn time. Don’t let people walk all over you.

Your feelings are important as well. If someone is an asshole to you, you don’t have to be nice to them – you don’t have to be nasty either. Don’t be anything to them. They are not worth you time.

You will feel so much better once you learn this life lesson.

Hey, I’m still nice. But there’s no way in hell I’ll let anyone treat me like crap again.

2 thoughts on “Is There Such A Thing As Being Too Nice?

Comment and Tell Me Your Thoughts

