September Book Haul/Shoplog

Yes, another Book Haul, because well I brought more books… sssshhhhhhh!!! But also I’m feeling refreshed and energised again now… looooong two weeks. But expect more blogs from me this week.

Wings by Aprilynne Pike
Wings by Aprilynne Pike
Wings by Aprilynne Pike

Description: Laurel was mesmerized, staring at the pale things with wide eyes. They were terrifyingly beautiful – too beautiful for words.
Laurel turned to the mirror again, her eyes on the hovering petals that floated beside her head. They looked almost like wings.
In this extraordinary tale of magic and intrigue, romance and danger, everything you thought you knew about faeries will be changed forever

I must say this books description does little to make me want to read it – however I have two friends who have read this book and they loved it, so I thought I’d give it ago.
I’m quite eager to read more about faeries, they’ve caught my attention since reading The Crowfield Curse by Pat Walsh, although this (as is my understanding) a different play on Fae.

I have actually started it already, but I’m not far enough into the story to form an opinion as of yet, I just hope I enjoy it as much as my friends have.

Grimm's Fairy Tales by Brothers Grimm
Grimm’s Fairy Tales by Brothers Grimm

Grimm’s Fairy Tales by Brothers Grimm

Description: Merry, dark or magical, these classic tales never fail to inspire and enthral. From the land of fantastical castles, vast lakes and deep forests, the Brothers Grimm collected a treasury of entrancing folk and fairy stories full of giants and dwarfs, witches and princesses, magic beasts and cunning boys. From favourites such as The Frog-Prince and Hansel and Gretel to the delights of Ashputtel or Old Sultan, all are vivid with timeless mystery.

I do have a children’s fairytale book with some of their stories in, but not all – so definitely time I got this.

Annoyingly it’s one of those books with small writing, why must classics have small text?! Irritates me!

I think everyone should read both Grimms’ and Anderson’s fairy tales, you’d be surprised how much Disney, animation and what not is based on their stories.

 Storm Front: The Dresden Files Book One by Jim Butcher

Storm Front: The Dresden Files Book One by Jim Butcher

Storm Front: The Dresden Files Book One by Jim Butcher

Description: Meet Harry Dresden, Chicago’s first (and only) Wizard P.I. Turns out the ‘everyday’ world is full of strange and magical things – and most of them don’t play well with humans. That’s where Harry comes in.
Harry is the best at what he does – and not just because he’s the only one who does it. So when the Chicago P.D. has a case that transcends mortal capabilities, they look to him for answers. There’s just one problem. Business, to put it mildly, stinks.
So when the police bring him in to consult on a grisly double murder committed with black magic, Harry’s seeing dollar signs. But where there’s black magic, there’s a black mage behind it. And now that mage knows Harry’s name. And that’s when things start to get . . . interesting.
Magic – it can get a guy killed.

I was recommended this by my friend Laurel, well recommended the whole series actually – but this is the first book of the series.
As you can see from the description it’s quite a mix of genre’s but it definitely caught my attention, I’m not even sure how I’ve not heard of it before.
Can’t wait to get into this one soon.

Pale by Chris Wooding
Pale by Chris Wooding

Pale by Chris Wooding

Description: The Lazarus Serum can bring you back from the dead. Only thing is, it turns you into a Pale. Jed can’t imagine anything worse, but then the choice is taken out of his hands…

I picked this up in Liverpool, having read Malice and Havoc by Chris Wooding before.

This is a really short book so I thought it would be perfect for when I need a quick read.

I have to confess though, I have already read this – which you’ll probably be re-told again tomorrow when I get a 50 Book Challenge update posted for this week.

I’ll review it soon, promise.

Geordie's Mingin Medicine by Roald Dahl
Geordie’s Mingin Medicine by Roald Dahl

 Geordie’s Mingin Medicine by Roald Dahl

Description: Geordie’s grannie is a crabbit auld grumph. As far as she’s concerned, Geordie can do nothing right. But, when the times comes for him tae bring her her medicine, Geordie decides tae give her a mingin brew of his own recipe. — After the remarkable hit, The Eejits Matthew Fitt’s Scots translation of Roald Dahl’s The Twits, Itchy Coo presents another Scots version of a Roald Dahl story. Now Geordie’s Marvellous Medicine has been distilled into Geordie’s Mingin Medicine. Strong stomachs and a head for heights are required for this hilarious tale.

That’s right… A Dahl classic translated into scots. I’m not 100% sure about this, not sure I want anyone messing with Dahl’s stuff but at the same time, I’m intrigued about it.

Since I’ve already read George’s Marvelous Medicine this year, I won’t be reading this until next year because I feel I wouldn’t really be doing 50 books then, as this would still be the same book but in a different… slang/dialect.

and finally…

Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs
Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Description: A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. And a strange collection of very curious photographs. It all waits to be discovered in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children;, an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience. As our story opens, a horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children who once lived here – one of whom was his own grandfather – were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a desolate island for good reason. And somehow – impossible though it seems – they may still be alive.

I picked this up in a book store, read the description and decided not to buy it. But then I found myself thinking about the story, wondering how these Children were Peculiar. So when I was in town again, I brought it (though they had moved it from the display table!).

Really looking forward to reading this one, it’s a quite different to what I’ve read before. I’m very curious!

So there’s my haul! Which one of those would you like to read? Have you read any of them? What was the last book you brought?

4 thoughts on “September Book Haul/Shoplog

  1. Yup, I love Wings! I love faery stories in general, but I really like Aprilynne’s take on fey. Indeed, they are very different! It’s also quite a thrilling/exciting series, I read each book in the series (there are 4) in a matter of days. Make sure you have your schedule cleared if/when you start the last book! 😉

    1. I only have the first one for now. I have a few sequels to real already, including Mockingjay. I should really finish some off!

Comment and Tell Me Your Thoughts

