50 Book Challenge – Week 43 & 44

It’s been a busy, busy week – hence I didn’t update last Sunday.

I started off with a whole week (mostly) to myself meaning I had plenty of time to read The Alchemyst: Book 1 (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel) with Maaike. Suddenly my week seemed to fill up with appointments, people wanting my attention or presence somewhere. I did finish The Alchemyst with the week but a little behind Maaike who finished it in 3 days. Good book – review soon.

So now I’m pondering what Book #44 will be for me, I’m thinking maybe Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs but I’m not 100% sure yet as I won’t be starting my next book until later this evening. But since Miss Peregrine’s is of the horror variety is does seem rather apt for this time of year.

7 Books to go!

So Me…

Want to recommend a book? Maybe I’ll read it in my last few books of this year. Leave a book recommendation in the comments!

It’s well and truly autumn now and it’s getting cold. Everyone knows (or at least every reader knows) that there’s nothing better on a cold and blustery day than curling up on the sofa with a blanket, a book and a hot beverage.
For a lot of people that’s tea, but I don’t like tea… or coffee for that matter, and  well I do like hot chocolate but it gives me heart palpitations, so my choice (at least right now) is Chocolate Horlicks (it’s also got a bunch of vitamins in too. What’s your choice of hot drink?

See ya next week!

6 thoughts on “50 Book Challenge – Week 43 & 44

  1. I couldn’t agree more! I am currently reading Jane Austen’s Pride & Prejudice. I want to know what you think of the peculiar children book. If you like it, I might too! Oh and my hot beverage of choice is tea or hot chocolate. Just finished two large mugs of the latter tonight.

    1. I always shy away from those girly classics but I think next year I might give one a go.
      I’ve started Peculiar Children, but so far only read the prologue and the first chapter so not much of an opinion yet but from what I have read, it’s seems there’s more to it than I thought there would be.

  2. I read two books from Morgan Matson this year, and I LOVE them!! They’re also YA, but the writing and the stories are so beautiful… I didn’t want them to end!

    My favorite hot beverage… I do love tea, but a few years ago my friend introduced me to Whittard of Chelsea’s hot chocolate… yum yum 🙂

    PS: what did you think of The Alchemist?

    (This is Gaby by the way 😉 )

    1. What were the books by Morgan Matson you read?

      The Alchemist – I liked but it’s quite slow paced compared to a lot of other books of the same genre, but I’ll think I’ll read the next one in the series as sometimes the first book can be a bit slow. I really need to write a review for it.

  3. I think she’s only written the two books so far: Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour and Second Chance Summer.

    I really like the Nicholas Flamel series, but I should read them again in one go… whenever I read the next book in the series, I have no clue anymore what happened in the book before :p Can you believe the entire series takes place in just a few days?

Comment and Tell Me Your Thoughts

