50 Book Challenge – Week 48

I’m now at week 48 – the start of that is, which means there’s only 5 weeks left of the challenge. I have to have finished my 50th book by midnight on 31st December 2012.
It suddenly feels like the past 10 weeks or so have raced by. I even went back through my posts and checked I hadn’t missed a week or something. But no, start of week 48!

I’ve not started my 48th book yet, but I’m part way through book 46. But before we get to that – I finished up Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs (book 44) and I really loved it. If you want to know more, read my review.

Then I decided to pick up Nobodys Perfect Charlie Brown by Charles Schulz, since I’d purchased two 1970’s Peanuts books from eBay a few weeks ago and I really wanted to get to read at least one of them this side of Christmas. So meet book #45) It’s a fairly decent book, but I’m not overly impressed. I enjoyed it but not sure I’ll be looking at collecting these editions of the books.

So that brings me to book 46 which I’m currently reading – The Secret Lives of Baba Segi’s Wives by Lola Shoneyin. My sister lent me this book as she meant the author whilst she was living in Nigeria (which is where this book is set). This is not normally the type of book I go for but I’m really enjoying it. The book follows a polygamist household where Baba Segi rules over his four wives. The newest wife – the fourth wife is not like the others – she is educated and young. The other wives take an instant disliking to her – knowing they are in for less attention and less money now that it has to be split four ways instead of three. However the book flicks from wife to wife to show you their background, how they come to be Baba Segi’s wife and why they are the way they are now. It’s very interesting.

So that’s me all up to date now. If your doing the challenge also – no matter what your target amount of books is for the year – how are you getting on? Have you made it this far?

Comment and Tell Me Your Thoughts

