Countdown To Christmas: My Top 10 Favourite Christmas Songs

I love Christmas and one of the things that makes me feel oh so Christmassy is Christmas songs – they aren’t always fantastic songs but they are fun and they are a staple part of my Christmas.
I thought a top ten would be so easy for me and it is, the problem was picking just ten! Nevertheless, lets start the countdown!

10. Brenda Lee – Rockin around the Christmas Tree
This song always seem to be in shops and in Christmas movies, it’s just so catchy it really sticks in your head!

9. Judy Garland – Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas
I love this song, it has that old recorded sound to it – like the songs in the old classic Disney movies. I love seeing all the old Christmas decorations in the video too.

8. John Lennon – Happy Xmas (War Is Over)
This song is so full of Christmas but so sad at the same time – especially if you watch the video. The sad thing is, nothing has really changed since the video was shot.

7. The Pogues & Kirsty McColl – Fairytale Of New York
I’m not sure how many people would consider this a “Christmas song” but in my house, it is.

6. Paul Mcartney – Wonderful Christmas Time
I don’t think I ever remember not hearing this song at Christmas, it’s such a classic.

5. Dean Martin – Walking In A Winter Wonderland
I love Dean Martin’s voice at Christmas, this song and “Let it Snow” are just so smooth and conjure up images of a log fire burning and the snow outside.

4. Wham! – Last Christmas
I know, I know cheesy, really cheesy but I always end up singing along, I can’t help it!

3. Shakin’ Stevens – Merry Christmas Everyone
This dude will probably need a hip replacement quite soon but hey this “dance” was all the range. Love some 80’s cheese!

2. Slade – Merry Christmas Everybody
It’s not really Christmas without Slade shouting about it is it?

1. Wizzard – I Wish It Could Be Christmas Everyday
I LOVE THIS SONG! Not to mention the Santa/Glam Rock and just way fun video!

Didn’t I say that it was hard to pick just ten? Well I thought I’d sneak in 3 Bonus ones!

Queen – Thank God it’s Christmas
What can I say? I grew up listening to Queen so it just cannot be left out!

Howard Blake – Walking In The Air
It’s just not Christmas without The Snowman!

Band Aid – Do They Know Its Christmas
I don’t think anyone forgets Band Aid (the original)!

Eeeeeeee I’m feeling so Christmassy! What’s your favourite Christmas song? What Christmas song do you hate?

Comment and Tell Me Your Thoughts

