A Bookish Q&A

Stolen from Whispers of a Barefoot Medical Student.

Mistborn: Hero of Ages by Brandon Sanderson
Mistborn: Hero of Ages by Brandon Sanderson

What are you reading now?
Mistborn: Hero of Ages by Brandon Sanderson. Freaking loving it.

What are you planning to read next?
I’m not 100% sure yet, maybe finally actually read Harry Potter? Although I also have Alice on Mars by Robert Rankin that I want to read, plus Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank. It all depends what I’m in the mood for when I finish the book I’m currently reading but those are the ones I plan on reading in the near future.

What five books have you always wanted to read but haven’t got around to?

  1. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling (I know I know!)
  2. Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie
  3. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
  4. Every Day is an Atheist Holiday by Penn Jillette
  5. The Color of Magic by Terry Pratchett

What magazines do you have in your bathroom/lounge right now?
None, I don’t really read magazines much to be honest. I’d rather a comic book than a magazine.

What’s the worst book you’ve ever read?
Cosmopolis by Don DeLillo or The Phantom of Manhattan by Frederick Forsyth

What book seemed really popular, but you didn’t like?
Lord of the Rings by J.R.R Tolkien. Perhaps didn’t like is a bit strong, I liked the story but his writing style makes it a difficult read.
I’m also currently reading The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson, I do not understand why this book is popular at all.

Three favourite poems
Wow, I haven’t read any poetry in ages so I’m going to have think about this one!

  1. The Lesson by Roger McGough
  2. The Cucumber by Ernest Henry
  3. The Owl and the Pussy Cat by Edward Lear

Where do you usually get your books?
Where-ever is cheapest – discount book stores, high street stores, amazon, eBay, independent book sellers or charity shops. 

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

When you were little, did you have any particular reading habits?
I was a strange child, I used to read in the hallway right next to the front door. I used to sit there and surround myself with books from the library. I also used to read in bed at night.
I usually picked books with either animals in them or some sort of fantasy element.

What’s the last thing you stayed up half the night reading because it was too good to put down?
The Wings series by Aprilynne Pike. (May have also had a slight crush on Tamani).

Have you ever “faked” reading a book?
*Hangs head in shame*. Yes. I was supposed to read To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee, for my GCSE’s (end of High School exams) and well… I read the first 17 pages! I bluffed my way through the exam and passed with a C! (which is good btw!).

Have you ever bought a book just because you liked the cover?
Brought a book… no. Picked one up to read the synopsis on the back because of the cover yes (and then brought the book).

What was your favourite book when you were a child?
That depends on how old we’re talking about here. Small child, it was definitely The First Thousand Words by Heather Amery, Betty Root and Stephen Cartwright – it’s a Usbourne book, now they do First Thousand English Words… or German, French, etc. But at the time, it was just First Thousand Worlds. (I feel old).
Later it was Beatrix Potter Books, and then Roald Dahl; particularly The BFG and The Twits.

What book changed your life?
I don’t think I’ve had a book that has really changed my life to be honest. There have been characters that I identify with,  storylines that have touched me but nothing has gone as far as changing my life.

Who are your top five favourite authors?

  1. Robert Rankin
  2. Brandon Sanderson
  3. Roald Dahl
  4. Penn Jillette
  5. Pat Walsh

What book has no one heard about but should read?
The Crowfield Curse by Pat Walsh. I’m still waiting for Walsh to write a third book to this series!

What books are you an ‘evangelist’ for?
Brandon Sanderson’s Mistborn series definitely. Just freaking love this series.

 What is your favourite classic book?
Gotta be Dracula by Bram Stoker.

Comment and Tell Me Your Thoughts

