Kindle Unlimited – Yay or Nay?

kindle-Logo-550x401

Amazon Kindle UK, has just launched it’s Kindle Unlimited Premium service. I don’t know about you but I’m intrigued by the concept, so I thought we could take a closer look together.

Kindle Unlimited boasts that you can read as much as you want and choose from 650,000 titles and thousands of audiobooks for just £7.99 a month. You can even Try it out for free for 30 days. Currently Kindle Unlimited (UK) is currently available only to customers located in the United Kingdom, Gibraltar, Jersey, Isle of Man, Guernsey and Ireland.

For an avid reader who buys around 10 books a month, not even counting Kindle purchases this sounds like a pretty good deal. So naturally I wanted to know more.

The first thing I wanted to know is what I could get for my £7.99 a month, after all this has the potential to be some saving!
Alas, next to no big publishers are signed up to Kindle Unlimited – purely because it’s not feasible for them. I won’t go into too much detail, if you want to read all about it – you can read information on it here and here. However basically an author and/or publisher only gets a share of what is in that months “pot” not their normal profit .
This means the majority of books that are available are from indie authors and small publishing companies – not that there is anything wrong with either of these, we readers should still support them because everyone had to start somewhere – however your not going to get the latest best sellers.
As I said, do give love in indie authors and small publishers – but one also has to consider than normally their books do not cost a whole lot anyway – plus they take advantage of Amazons promotional system and have offers on and sometimes free books regularly. The bulk of books available on Kindle Unlimited would cost under £2 each anyway – most at 99p infact so one will have to buy at least 8 of these to make the £7.99 a month worth while.

But hey, that could happen… but it’s less appealing than they make it sound, but moving on!

The next problem I encountered is when I assumed I could buy 8+ books a month – which I can, I really can – technically. You can only keep 10 Kindle Unlimited books on your Kindle or Kindle app at a time however. Better read fast.
Also, if you cancel you Kindle Unlimited subscription… all those books, will be deleted from your account. Whether you have read them or not. Whilst this is understandable if I had spent time getting my money’s worth and then for some reason finding myself not being able to afford £7.99 a month, I’d be pretty miffed about the amount of books been taken off my Kindle.

Needless to say my initial excitement about Kindle Unlimited… has well now become limited. So I’m sorry to say, it’s a “Nay” for me.
Nice try Amazon, but the benefits just don’t measure up in the end for an avid reader. It’s a good attempt at “book streaming” but it doesn’t work for me and for it to have any kind of future you need to give a better deal to the indie authors and small publishers. Plus make it work for bigger publishers too. Books, even eBooks are nothing without authors, publishers and readers. Sort it out.

What are your thoughts on Kindle Unlimited? Will you be signing up?

Comment and Tell Me Your Thoughts

